Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Completely nuts!

Well the forecast was right - it has rained all day, though not as heavily as I expected. A good day for wrapping presents, re-re-re-watching an episode of Morse and tidying up.

I did leave the house briefly this morning, but only to fill up the bird feeders. Yesterday I scattered hazel nuts up on the bank and filled the little tray on the fence and this morning we were rewarded by our friendly neighbourhood squirrel rushing up and down the bank searching for them. Every time he found one he would jump down off the wall, run down the drive and a few minutes later he would return and repeat the process - I imagine he was burying them somewhere out of my sight!

I took loads of pictures, but apart from shooting through the window on a wet and windy day he was darting about like a mad thing, and this picture is the only one that was anything like sharp. After this he went down the drive for the last time, crossed the road and dived through the bushes into a neighbour's garden. Lovely to watch the little creature though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.