Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

MONO MONDAY - LINES

Plenty of lines in this shot for Mono Monday - the various fingerless gloves I’m knitting at the moment - seems like when people see me knitting them they realise they would like a pair, so off I go again - and also the lines on the wrapping paper.

I have a very busy day today - been asked to take some photographs for two friends who will soon celebrate their Golden Wedding Anniversary.  After that, going over to the Community Fridge to chat with people who come into the café - it will be good to see the “Monday crowd” again after being away for so long.

This afternoon, the Friends and Fun Group are having a Christmas Party, which starts in the Church, at which I am helping with the singing and also reading two pieces.  After that we will move into the hall for some craft activities and a quiz and I am assured by Val, the organiser, that there will be some snacks - and I’m sure the cakes will be wonderful - and there is also a Secret Santa visit too.

One of my readings is from a book entitled “Fill my Stocking” - a Christmas Anthology put together by Alan Titchmarsh - and I’m reading “Jesus’ Christmas Party” from this book.  For those who don’t celebrate Christmas or don’t understand the meaning of it - there is a clue in the word - CHRIST-MAS!  

I’m then going to read the whole of a short book entitled “The Twelve Days of Christmas (Correspondence)" by John Julius Norwich and illustrated beautifully by Quentin Blake.  You can see both books in the extra shot.

The first book was given to me by Mr. HCB some years ago because he knows I love poetry and anthologies and the second was given to me by a grateful boss way back in 1998, to thank me for my help and support.  Two books I take off the shelf every year at the beginning of December.

So, I have almost learned my “lines” and will deliver them to the Friends and Fun group this afternoon and hope they enjoy them as much as I do.  Amazing too that I actually looked at the theme before the day!

Doesn’t seem possible that we will be celebrating Christmas Day in a week’s time - but hope all your preparations are coming together and that you don’t get too frazzled in the run-up to the big day.  M xx 

P.S.  Couldn't let this day go by without thinking of Mr. HCB's lovely Mother, Joan - see second extra - it would have been her birthday today - something she and I had in common - birthdays near Christmas.  We remember her today with much love and affection and thanks for all she meant to us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.