Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Homeward Bound

A delightfully uneventful journey. from home (Tr) to home (UK).  Left Akbuk a little before 8.30, with Graham and Katherine who took me to Izmir airport, on their way to Ikea. Check in was very quick, the wait wasn't long and the plane almost empty - can't have been more than 30 people on board and so I had a whole row of three seats to myself. Wonderful views of the snow-covered alps in the sunshine. Hardly anyone at Stansted border control, luggage came in five minutes, bus to Chelmsford came in ten, took less than an hour and only cost £2 (it used to cost £10), taxi for the last five minutes to the house and, with the three hour time difference,  I was home by 14.30 ! 

Poor bro wasn't able able to come and see me - he's poorly with Covid, again, but he'd previously left me the necessaries for my traditional cuppa with a cheddar cheese sandwich upon arrival.  Maddy my niece and William my nephew called though which was wonderful. Lots and lots of news to share and Christmas to plan for. Otherwise it was an afternoon and evening of quiet settling in to this alter ego life of mine and remembering where I put my English phone charger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.