Blush response

By Esper

My Ancestors' Spirits Rest On Mount Shiroyama

On This Day In History
1836: Andrew Jackson submits the Indian Treaty to Congress

Quote Of The Day
"It is a heart-rending thought to our simple feelings to think of leaving our native country forever, and which has been bought with the price of, their native blood, and which has been thus safely transmitted to us ..... the mortal remains of our deceased parents, relations and friends, cry out to us as it were, for our compassion, our sympathy and our love."
(August Hamlin, head Odawa interpreter for treaty negotiations)

I discovered a new hiking route on Mount Shiroyama this afternoon, offering splendid views over Osaka, Nishinomiya and Kobe. A handy, shorter route for when I don't have time for a whole day hike, like today.

Although Japan is not the land of my ancestors, I believe my spirit could rest peacefully here. Of course, unlike the Odawa, I have not been forced out of my homeland; this is where I have chosen to make my home.

Diaspora

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.