Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Renaissance

Oh, he wilingly posed for me, this mr. Yannis! 

And there's a little story to this blip... in February last I'd passed from his patisserie in Aliartos village for a coffee and a break, when I drove up to Delphi and further on. His face then reminded me of a painting made by the Italian painter Pierro della Francesca (see extra) made in 15th century (possibly in 1474) of and for Federigo da Montefeltre, a duke of Urbino in that time.

Mr. Yannis didn't accept my request in February last and when I passed from this same road with my hiking son, three months ago, my son didn't like my reason for taking a coffee at mr. Yannis' shop, what I much regretted. 
And now driving down from Meteora up to Nafplio my GPS sent me again across this road, passing by from Aliartos and mr. Yannis' patisserie! It was 10 hrs in the eve and his shop still open and him there! 
I ordered my coffee and asked him again if I could photograph him 'en profil' ... he remembered me and my request from February and accepted  my invitation for posing! 

Putting his photo next to the Renaissance painting, I see some looking alike, especially the eyes and a little the nose ~ I reckon this photoshoot as a treasure of mine, as I so dearly wanted to get it since February last! 

Backblip 11
hre backblip 10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.