4Sam3388

By 4Sam3388

Palm Oil Plantation Workers

Today was more of a travelling day than a sightseeing ride. We rode from Phuket to Ao Nang which is a beach out from Krabi. It was an adventurous trip on the road. A few close calls with some speeding drivers coming at you from the wrong direction but all manageable.

The journey took longer than expected as we had to leap off the road and take shelter when a tropical storm came through.

As luck would have it we found a car port just off the road to drive into. It turned out to be a Palm Oil weigh station and these lovely Thai workers took us into their little concrete shed to give us a cup of coffee and chat about Palm oil harvesting. They were strong young guys and they showed us how heavy the palm oil seed bunches were to lift.

We sheltered with them for over an hour. A took a couple of shots on my happy snappy camera but they didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. My glasses were in my pack on the bike and it was too hard for me to see in the dim light.

This one is the best of a bad bunch but really wanted to post one of them as the experience with the locals was entertaining and rewarding.

Tomorrow we will take a slower pace and hopefully I'll pull out the main camera.

P.S I have had to re blip this as my camera date settings were all wrong which had the photo recorded as being taken in march 2010. Sorry to Steffi and Samsticks etc who already commented. Your comments have been lost but much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.