The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Life

I sat alone at a picnic table, contemplating life. The faint odor of hotdogs in the air, served as a subtle reminder that the pool was open and people were eating lunch at the wire tables and benches that are designed with the soaking wet diner in mind.

The park was quiet except for an occasional visit by happy toddlers, running with childlike exuberance ahead of their weary mothers, pushing baby strollers and sipping their Starbuck's.

The scene reminded me of when my daughters were young. They loved visiting the park, fishing in the pond, and riding their little bikes along the sandy paths. Life was wonderful then and somehow, despite the lack of sleep, full of purpose.

Life is different now. My kids aren't little anymore, and finding my purpose a bit hazy at best.

Time for change is here.

Why didn't I see this sooner?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.