Happy birthday

Well. It’s official. I am now a month beyond the Psalmist’s allotted 3 score years and ten, and I admit… at times I feel it. I have taken Billy Connelly’s advice. When I am tying my shoe laces, I look around to see if there is anything else I can do when I’m down there!
Today I am experiencing joy at another birthday. This time it belongs to our first grand-child Elli, who is 8 years old today. It’s different observing rather than celebrating a birthday. I am reflecting on all the beautiful, personal memories of her life so far. Her first visit to our house on the way home from hospital. Her first tooth, her first steps,  her first words, hearing her laugh for the first time.  Her first day in nursery. From the day I first laid eyes on her, I was captivated by this tiny creature. I was struck by her fragility, her vulnerability, her beauty and the grip of those 5 tiny digits for the first time. I was overwhelmed by love. It was as though all my Christmases had come on that day. Over the coming weeks the love grew into new areas. I felt myself glancing at her when she was asleep in my care and reflecting on the wonder and gift of life. How can she be so perfect? 
Two years pass and I learn that I am to be a grandfather again and I panic. Why? I am genuinely afraid that the love I feel for Elli is so extensive, so focused that I will not have enough room in my heart for number two. I have since learned, that such a feeling  is common among many other grandparents. When Zeke was born I realised that my fear was totally unfounded because I experienced exactly the same feelings and emotions when I laid eyes on him for the first time. It was amazing. I had learned that love sits outside mathematical equations. You can love two people with all your heart at the same time. I have no idea how that happens. It’s like love defies the law of physics. It is as if love expands to meet the circumstances with which It becomes in contact. 
Now we have 5 grandchildren – Anita, Hannah and Samuel have since joined the crew, and my (one) heart is sufficient to love them all equally and totally. 
In a few days we will celebrate the birthday of Jesus. He was God’s love gift. He came to show us God cares for us and loves us - all 9 billion of us. His love isn’t just for good people. It reaches into dark places It embraces those on the edges, those who are caught up in war, abuse, depression and alienation.  It is a love that will never be exhausted or used up. 
I pray that you will experience his love this Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.