Pilar

By acula

Tia mami

Tia Mami is what I called her when I was a little girl and she wasn't much older than me.

She is my aunt María Luisa, my mother's younger sister, and today I went to visit her at the nursing home where she lives.


When my sister Teresa and I got there she was busy with the 'dog therapy' activity. The caregiver at the door told us that she would finish in five minutes, so we were able to spend the afternoon with her and even had the opportunity to meet the dog Padilla and her instructor Nicolás, who explained this activity to us and said that María Luisa had overcome her fear of the dogs and now she even enjoyed having Padilla on her lap and spend an hour a week in this therapy.
The room where we sat and chatted with her was completely decorated for Christmas and people there were simply chatting, sitting, daydreaming or receiving visitors. The two large televisions were on, but I noticed that no one seemed to be paying attention to the program.
It was a nice atmosphere, but I felt a bit depressed  as I always felt when I accompanied my mother to visit her friends at other nursing homes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.