iaint

By iaint

The End

The end is nigh... the end of the year, that is.

I have seen a few social media posts today about Newgrange in Ireland (near Drogheda) and its tomb dating from 3000 BC. The sun shines up the entrance tunnel on one day of the year - the winter solstice. 

Worth a visit. An easy day trip from Dublin (or Belfast) if you have a car. 

It reminded me that the (Scottish) Gaelic word for December is An Dùbhlachd. Literally translated it means "the blackness".   

I did get some respite from the December darkness today while I was out to deal with a few errands. My Blip is the railway station carpark, now half empty on account of students at the local college being on holiday. It is convenient for the library, which was one of my errands today. 

I am now immersed in a World War II spy thriller by a Norwegian author which is mostly set in Stockholm. I had to force myself to put it down to go and eat something. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.