Melisseus

By Melisseus

Oh blow

I thought I'd put this table in the shelter of the shed. It turns out that, in a westerly, I'd put it in a wind tunnel between the shed and the house

I read, heard and thought a lot about Gaza today, but I can't write much about it. It's worth reading this letter, not just for what it says, but for who is saying it - people from the heart of the British military establishment. Brigadier Deverell, who co-ordinated it, is a caricature of the military top brass in every British WWII film, but he's also an experienced diplomat in Israel/Palestine and a (ex) senior military planner. To hear someone like that speaking - as he did today - of indiscriminate killing of civilians, war crimes, complicity, life sentences at the International Criminal Court, indefensibility, futility and more is to see the mask slip and the tide turn. I see it as a small ray of hope, perhaps a change in the wind

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.