BRIANW

By BRIANW

Siblings Living The Lights, Central London

My very last (half) working day of the year and I must admit it hasn't come a moment too soon. Today we were down to the bare bones photographer wise and it just so happened that the last two of us standing were the two who had to travel the furthest distance in to work! My colleague had to come all the way from Hove in East Sussex and I had to come from deepest darkest Kent. We both have to commute hundreds of miles a week between us and eventually it does kick you right in the knackers and you reach the point of exhaustion, we both reached that mentally and physically today. We'd had enough.
Luckily, we were allowed to go about an hour early so I headed off to do some Christmas shopping and then on to the Southbank via a quick pitstop for a very expensive  pint (£7.10!) in Soho. Today's main image was taken just shy of Trafalgar Square. It's my first street shot in quite a while but I just loved the eye contact between the two siblings - the recognition and warmth was all there in a single glance.
The Southbank was mobbed but just had a lovely atmosphere. It was full of families looking like they were having a great time. Soon enough it was time to head back over the river to Victoria to catch my (rare) early train home and I've never been so glad to heave myself on to public transport for the last time this year (my brother has helped me so much in that respect as I've been really struggling with that aspect of my working life over the past couple of months).
The extra is of the Christmas lights facing the Thames on the Southbank. I'm now free to go full on festive and I can't bloody wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.