Cygnus

By Cygnus

Lighten our darkness

When I was a small girl I started singing in the formal, robed choir of my neighbourhood Church of Ireland (an Anglican Church). I sang with them for over ten years, ‘graduating’ from the frilly collar, black robe and white surplice to the adult female garb of black robe and white collar. To this day I know verymany hymns and can remember most of the words, but my favourite songs were the choral pieces sung in four-part harmony, such as the Magnificat, Nunc Dimitis and Benedictus.

One of my favourite Collects was the prayer for protection at nighttime:
“Lighten our darkness, we beseech thee, oh Lord, and by thy great mercy, defend us from all perils and dangers of this night.” I used to recite this as I ran home in the dark after evening service! My dad sent me out to church in lieu of attending himself. He probably got a couple of hours peace.

I think that this prayer is very appropriate for these times. And my Christmas theme is Light!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.