meccanica

By meccanica

the end of the world (part two)

Again - not the end of the world.

This is taken from my laptop's screen. It is a frame from a film taken in 1946 as part of Operation Crossroads. This was known as the Baker Event. This is Bikini Atoll.

I'm using this film to introduce a lecture on sustainability which I am giving to our second year design programme in a day and a bit. I'm attempting to take a positive stance (believe it or not), and was struck the other day by the similarities between my teenage years with the the almost constant threat of Mutually Assured Destruction and today's constant eco-angst.

The proposition is that this current problem is much more within our control (as designers and consumers) than the nuclear standoff ever was. I hope I'm right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.