Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I had a good journey to Swansea as far as traffic was concerned, but the wet weather meant that there was a lot of spray. But why on earth don't more people put their lights on in such conditions? I know the answer... they're idiots!

After lunch we visited Swansea's winter wonderland because the boys wanted to go ice skating. I haven't done any for at least 40 years but was prepared to have a go, although I'd forgotten how very slippery it is! We made it once round the rink, with me holding onto Josh and Rose looking after Thomas. But Thomas didn't like it at all and wanted to get off the ice as quickly as possible, so he sat out with Daddy.

Josh was gradually getting the hang of it, although really he enjoyed just sliding his feet about all over the place.. which didn't help! I went a bit ahead, beginning to feel a bit more confident, then waiting for Josh to catch up when WHACK, I slipped over, fell flat on my back in an instant and whacked my head really hard on the ice. Good grief, I should've been wearing my climbing helmet!

The safety crew were there in an instant, helped me up and asked the appropriate questions. I was shocked but okay otherwise, completed the circuit and came off the ice. By this time, 10 minutes later, I had a massive lump on the back of my head, it felt enormous! I took my boots back to the counter and said, "This may sound ridiculous, but do you have any ice?" They brought me an ice pack and I sat with it on my head for a while. They again asked me more questions, but the thought of A&E on Christmas Eve was off putting and I genuinely felt that I was alright, and I was with family who would keep an eye on me.

I iced again when we got back to my daughter's and over the last few hours the lump has more or less gone down, just the bruising to deal with now. Thank goodness I didn't break anything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.