New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

A beautiful housewarming gift

I have not been blipping much this year, but one great thing that has happened, is that early in August we moved into our holiday home / second home in Hrísey island. We have spent many weekends there since, and I absolutely love it there. Last Thursday we visited (meant to spend the night but I twisted my ankle so we cut the trip short), and hanging on the front door handle there was a plastic bag with this beautiful Christmas tree in it. It was a gift from a couple who also have a holiday home on the island, and the tree is made by a 93 years old carpenter/builder who lives in Hrísey. He is still going strong, working every day of the week and has no plans of retiring. I think this is such a beautiful gift, both the actual artwork and the thought behind it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.