Grammy

By Grammy

Notice Anything Out of Place?

I sure was hoping this wasn’t going to be how my Christmas journal turned out. The photo inserted in the top left corner says it all. After Mass on Saturday night, my entire body was chilled and uncontrollably shivering, no matter how many blankets I used. I chalked it up to overdoing it recently. When I got up yesterday, I was useless, no energy, no appetite, nothing. I chose not to ruin yesterday’s happy post by whining. Our BIL carved the meats, hubby arranged the cheese tray, my sister wrapped my last four gifts and Kim handed out the gifts. I sat on a bench away from the crowd and tried to hide my discomfort but fooled no one. I wasn’t even able to eat a bite. After lunch, the crew took over, putting everything away and cleaning the kitchen. I was shooed out of the kitchen when I tried to help. We headed to the recliners when the last guest left. Knowing we were going to make the rounds to each child’s house today, I decided if I was well enough to do that, I could surely go to Mass on Jesus’ birthday, so we went at 7:00 pm. Again, we sat alone. This morning, I felt rotten and asked the kids what they wanted me to do. They were fine with me visiting. My sister said “you looked awful last night, take a COVID test. Well, she was right on. Millie has kept me company in bed, see extra. At least I had quiet time to reflect on the true meaning of today. The kids sent plates, I have only been able to eat a homemade almond Danish from Kristen’s so I could take a fever reliever. Geez! I watched Kristen’s family open their stockings on Face Time and will do the same with Kim’s family after their dinner. My sister brought our mother to Kristen’s; glad I was not around her. I had planned to rest up after Christmas; there’s no doubt about it now. Sure hope the news is much happier from your end. Stay safe and appreciate good health. Sure hope I did not spread this nasty bug! Thanks for your visit. “The great challenge left to us is to cut through. all the glitz and glam of the season that has grown increasingly secular and commercial, and be reminded of the beauty of the One who is Christmas.” - BILL CROWDER

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.