The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Butterfleyes

Look into my eyes, look into my eyes!

I couldn't resist a fourth consecutive butterfly blip. The light has been ideal these last few mornings for butterfly photos. Being early is the key, as they are basking in the sunshine to warm themselves up and are slow to respond to movement. The heavy morning dew adds a sparkly bokeh to shots like this taken against the light, while the wings are illuminated like stained glass windows. This ultra close-up somehow reminded me of a colourful Darth Vader or an alien from Doctor Who.

I managed to get a shot of the underside today to complement yesterday's view from above, here. This was on the top of Arnside Knott. Gus and I went from there to Heathwaite, where we saw my first Northern Brown Argus of the year. This one was clearly freshly emerged, almost pristine, with a lustre to the wing scales that will be dulled within a couple of days.

Tomorrow we are heading north. The place we shall be staying in does not have Broadband access, and even if it did, the iPad has become far too temperamental about downloading photographs to be reliable. So I shall be absent for a while, and backblipping on my return. Don't give up on me, and thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's.

VIEW LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.