TrishaR

By TrishaR

Christmas Day

After basically setting up Christmas in a Day yesterday we had quite a relaxed morning. Well not completely but kinda.

I had a couple of bubbles. One when the Beatles came on the radio singing In My Life. Always thought this song invoked memories of childhood in myself. Some Songs touch my heart and this one does.

The gang arrived around 1:30 we were well in our way with organising everything. One of the funny things was that there were no turkey crowns for 4-6 in M and S left so we got an Aldi one with cranberry stuffing not letting the. Know it was Aldi as they are weird at times about food lol! Anyway the turkey crown there was 17 quid as opposed to M and S 45 and I wondered if there would be any difference. I don’t like turkey anyway and I had my chicken crown with stuffing so I cared not one jot selfishly knowing mine would be fine. As it turned out the cheaper turkey tasted no different to the more expensive according to my husband and those four were none the wiser. To me it’s all about the trimmings anyway - yum!

Another moment of sadness was when I proposed a wee toast to my mum and just a few words and there were tears and also Laura just broke down. She misses her Gran. Mum will never be forgotten but I know she would want us to have a good day. She loved Christmas Day with us and was such a fun loving person being sad would have annoyed her!

Main course went well, lots of trimmings including the cauliflower cheese I made yesterday. Pudding done then the games! Christmas Day is all about the games after the meal. The gang brought three new ones and then the one that I gave them. We had such a fun time playing them along with snacks and chocolate.

We wound up around 9pm. They left about 9:30. We were both pretty exhausted but wanted half an hour on the sofa to chill. Shoved on an episode of the Shining Girls and then bed with a paracetamol and didn’t even hear the end of my ten minute podcast as I fall asleep I was zonked.

Right, that’s another of the ‘firsts’ over. I keep thinking of Mum it’s only natural , and talking to her in my head. She always sent a thank you text to me when she got home on Christmas evening saying what a super day she had an thank us for everything. I think it’s more I thank her for everything.

Ps. We really did enjoy this game but from looking at the faces here everyone looks grumpy :). This was a shouty game, we like a SHOUT! I never took any other photo, how weird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.