Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Blue

Our two days of summer in NRW are over. Today we returned to our routine of rain and clouds and cooler temps. I know many of my friends are quite happy about this relief from the heat... but I'm a bit blue. The temps are predicted to drop throughout next week, so while Wed the 19th of June registered 33C (91F), Wed the 26th should be about 16C (61F). I'd be perfectly pleased if we compromised and maintained a consistent temperature of roughly 25 degrees Celsius. Could we all agree on that? Yes, well... please inform the powers that be. Now if all the world's problems could be so easily dispelled ;)

So let's see... today... I was meant to do a quick interpretation job and continue on to yoga class. But the job turned out to be not so quick and I missed my class :( No downward dog for me today. But hey, work is good, right?

Also on the upside, my interview for freelance relocation work with another large firm went well... so if they ever need an agent in this area, I'll be on file as their go-to-gal. Of course, I'm hoping to be employed full-time and in a position to turn down contract work when they come knocking... but it's a nice safety net.

Other good news, my oldest got back some of her IB test results and did incredibly well in Economics (6 out of 7). This is a class she just picked up in February when she changed schools, so she had to catch up on everything she missed first semester while keeping up with second semester material. The instructor was so impressed with her, that he sent me a congratulatory email and then went ahead and wrote an unsolicited "letter of excellence" for my daughter to include with her college applications. He feels she is an exceptional student. This made me cry, as my daughter had struggled so terribly at her last (German) school, that to see her excelling now and being recognized for all her hard work is such a joy. She was also accepted last week into the International Honors Society at her school. I'm very happy that things are finally falling into place for her. One by one, getting the ducks in a row...

OK, so maybe "blue" was a bit übertrieben of a title for today...it fits the flowers more than my mood, despite the dreary weather :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.