BJH

By BJH

Moving up

Today has been the third hot day in a row and I'm really starting to suffer from the heat. Rain was forecast which I hoped would bring some relief but we never even got one drop. Fortunately I'd found an alternative cycling path to the sanctuary a few weeks ago where I can cycle in the shade of the trees that grow along the river instead being exposed to the hot sun all the time. Even though it gets used by a lot of other cyclists, it's still considerably quieter as only a few cars drive alongside this path while the other route I used to follow ran beside some rather busy traffic.

This afternoon I walked Kahn again. He's one of the 4 Turkish Shepherd dogs that are currently staying at the sanctuary. He has a lovely laid back character and is very easy to walk for such a large dog. Our walk was a slow one and we stayed in the shade as much as possible. After the walk I had to pick some dandelion leaves again for Rosie and it was then that I spotted this ladybird climbing up a stem. I managed to get the camera out of my bag and take two shots before it flew away.

My new camera arrived today. Just like yesterday I was woken up by the doorbell early this morning but fortunately this time they waited with the parcel until someone came to answer the door. I had eventually decided to order the Nikon P520 after my P500 had frozen completely twice last week while zooming out and the only way I'd been able to get it working again was to take the battery out and put it back in. It seemed logical to choose the P520 as it's a camera that is very similar to the one I'm most familiar with and it also uses the same batteries.

Many thanks for the lovely comments and stars on my caterpillar blip fro yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.