Marionb

By Marionb

Maggie's Rule...

..If it is in this room, it is hers!  

She is in charge..she is the boss...She has taken claim to every chair, every soft surface and is already claiming what she assumes will be a new pillow for her to nap upon... I left my needlepoint for one moment to answer the phone...and...hmmmm. Well, at the rate I am getting that needlepoint done, she will have a very long wait for a new napping pillow...

Interesting though...For some reason, Maggie is very disciplined about not attacking anything on the coffee table...it seems to be off-limits...I can leave balls of yarn on it..I can light a candle on it..I can even have a bowl full of bright shiny and even furry Christmas balls sitting on it..and nothing will be touched...But..other than that, nothing is sacred...the mantel, the Christmas tree, the dining room table...and my needlepoint..when it is not on the table...Who knows how a cat's mind works?

Despite her penchant for napping and lounging, every now and then her hunting instincts surface... from her windowsill bench, she stalks the birds.. at the patio door, she stalks the squirrels...ever the hunter.. but foiled by being an indoor cat. 

Today, it was her survival instinct...not the hunter, but perhaps the prey.? I knew something was amiss..her sudden ALERT stance at the window was not her usual stalking one...and it caught my attention...Sure enough, she had spied a coyote casually trotting down the sidewalk.. Something we do not see every day...People walk by with dogs all the time..and get no reaction from her..but she seemed to know that this one was different - what were her clues? No leash, no human with it?.. that arrogant strut that declared "I am in charge, I rule so do not even think of challenging me". Whatever, she seemed to know this was something to be feared...Again...How does a cat's mind work? how does it detect "danger"? 

Fascinating stuff to ponder ..

...at least on a rainy day... when things like needlepoint and reading have to compete with the antics of a cat for entertainment value.. and lose! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.