MikeWest

By MikeWest

Splash And Gone

I forgot to zoom in at first, so surprised I was at seeing the muskrat. Just intent on getting a shot of him, which wasn't easy given his propensity to swim in amongst the reeds, or dive under water.

I first heard a splash whilst photographing a log and went to investigate thinking whatever the cause, it would probably disappear before I could get into position.

In the end I had a few minutes watching him, hunting or playing, I'm not sure, before a final splash and he was gone.

I missed focus, but I think this the best shot, saved by some selective sharpening, if not viewed too closely that is.

I wonder, when the ice comes, as surely it will, is it warmer in the water underneath? Or how far down before life can survive? And what of the frogs and turtles, maybe in the mud at the bottom?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.