LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

#23

My bus to Morningside this morning was empty when I got on about 10am and it did feel peculiar to be the only passenger until Bruntsfield.

I was about to be a lady who shops at Waitrose and so become one of the gentrified Morningside population.
It made for quite a different experience from my usual local Lidl or Tesco express shopping where there is a mixture of foreign students and cost cutting locals. Waitrose was busier than I might have thought but it appears that the people of Morningside and its environs are really going for a very sociable New Year - no expense spared.

Then it was over to the library for a browse round the shelves while I waited for a bus home.I even managed to find a book I wanted to read.

Daughter #1 popped in after lunch to try and organise the timing of our New Year’s Day dip at Portobello with the tide playing an important variable for us. We hate it when it is so low that we feel we are walking halfway to Fife before the water is up to our knees and yet on this New Year’s day the high tide is lunch time - too late for us. We will have to go early, that much is certain.

Unbelievably it is Friday again and I’m about to join my neighbours for the last TGIF drink for 2023.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.