Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Long-tailed Duck #81

Husband is out all day playing board games, so I took advantage of a break in the dreadful weather to go to one of our local nature reserves about 20 minutes away in search of a long tailed duck. It’s been there for a few weeks now and was surprisingly easy to locate on Birchwood pool. However, it was fairly distant for a long time but did come a little closer eventually. The light was pretty poor though, but you can’t have it all I suppose.  This was a female, but I would love to see a male in full breeding plumage as they are stunning looking birds.
On the way back to the car, I spotted a treecreeper and on Lapwing Lane pool I watched a little grebe catching a fish quite close to the screen which was nice. 
I would have spent a lot longer there and gone a bit further around, but I had left my phone at home and don’t like to be out on my own without any means of communication.  Soon after I got home, it started raining again anyway, so I don’t think I missed much! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.