Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

I ride

To ride the wind
To feel the air, to find
The freedom of an open moor
A beach, a place to let the spirit soar
This my friend is Heaven indeed
The loam in which to plant the seed
Of wild desires for miles unbroken
Of talk with words not spoken
Of hooves beating on ground
Of bodies lithe and sound
Of gallops, wind in face
Of freedom's wild, wild pace
Of rain and hail lashing
Of thunder, lightning flashing
Of sunshine on beach bright
Of water's splashed delight
Ah Bliss might I call your name
For what you are is but the same
Envy I not those behind desk
Desire I not their daily task
For here on freedom's back I ride
From here man's desires I deride
I am us, two in one count
I am me, at one with mount
I am the waves, I am the wind
I am the air, the freedom found
I desire naught, I need naught
I have all I ever have ever sought

I Ride

Terry Reader
September 2010


I was so shattered last night that I could barely stay awake long enough to post my blip.

This photo is of my eldest daughter - the one who painted Joey for me for Father's Day - having her lesson last night. She has become a really good horsewoman and enjoys every minute - well, almost every minute - she's on horseback. The lovely coloured horse she's riding is Katie who is owned by the riding school and part-loaned to a friend of mine there. She stands around 16'2 or 3 and is one of the loveliest horses in the school and gives 110% to whoever is riding her, be they beginner or advanced.

Things got easier today (yesterday as I am writing this lol) I think as I was able to ease my mind of the major worry that is haunting me. It won't go completely until I speak to someone next week when they return from their holiday.

It was a fortnight ago that we lost Bardy and we are still missing him like crazy, still remembering him doing things, causing trouble, making us laugh, making us frustrated, making us worry. All of those things seemed trivial at the time but we'd have them back in an instant if we could.

It's also a week since Jolly Green went, no message from the guy who bought her so I assume that everything is ok.

I worried last week that, having lost two important things from my life two Thursdays in a row that I'd lose something else this week. Thankfully the old "Things happen in threes" adage has proved false. This was another reason I didn't write last night as I didn't want to say it hadn't before the end of the day and then something happen overnight.

I know, stupidly superstitious! I've too active an imagination. It's great for poetry/ story writing but hell for real life!

The poem above is an old one that I wrote for a friend of mine who has horses and who rides for more often - and far better - than I do. I thought it fitting to apply it to this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.