ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Mini Mill

Picked a dry hour to drive to Kinderdijk ('Kinderdike') to buy gifts for the Viking.  All these years, I have not given him anything for the Season except for WhatsApp greetings.  I'd been meaning to do this for quite a while, and so it was going to be today or wait another week.

To my shock, Kinderdijk was busy.  For a grey, cold, wet, and windy day, tourists were all over the place, taking the long walk along the canals to admire the mills, having hot cocoa in the café, milling around the souvenir shop.  The entire parking area was full and I was fortunate to snag a corner spot when another car pulled out.  Before entering the shop, shot this mill outside.  For a moment, I did consider walking along the canals as well and shooting the mills as a group, and more than half of them were turning, the millers most likely thinking it a good idea to take advantage of the wind, and why not.  It was too cold, though, and I did not want the camera to get wet as it showered on and off.  Will wait for better weather.

Left the shop with a huge bag containing two mugs, two Tshirts, three tea towels, and a tote bag, plus a picture book.  Unfortunately, their coffee table books in English were out of stock, but I can always return here in the spring, and I'm pretty sure there will be new books.  After Kinderdijk, drove directly to the DHL office here in town, packed the stuff in a box, and it'll be delivered sometime next week.  While I was at DHL, I needed to go to the toilet, so I was allowed inside the personnel area, and I saw beautiful photo murals lining all the corridors.  Asked if I could take a shot, and this wasn't allowed.  I didn't mind.

And that was today's adventure.  The usuals again back home.  Thankful I got that mission accomplished.  Now that things are drawing to a close, I can think of even larger gifts.  I do look forward to things drawing to a close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.