talia_e_foa

By talia_e_foa

An end of an era and dealing with grief

On 11 November 2023 my 89 year old mum went to bed fell 10ft down our stairs.  I was out she suffered a facial laceration.

After two days it was clear this was much more serious she was admitted to hospital and dad a stable fracture of the C6 vertebra.  Fast forward 3 weeks she was okish but not right she had a CT scan as part of her ongoing Cancer care.  The oncologist found that she had 4 broken ribs.  

She was discharged to a nursing home and 24 hours later she called me not making any sense.  A sense of forboding I raced to the home. with my sister   The out of hours doctor realised there was something very wrong.  Back in an ambulance to the hospital 3am she was readmitted the hospital with a subdural hematoma.

This was treatable but she would have to 7 days without blood thinners.  That was Thursday morning and by Sunday she had developed a chest infection.  By Monday her level of consciousness had declined.  She was put on the palliative care pathway and at 15:55 on Tuesday 12 December she died.

I came to the UK to clear my head   For the first time in 10 years I don’t have to worry anymore about my mum.  Zeeva stays really close.  Barely leaves my side.  She has been my guardian angel.  I was really ill all through Christmas.  I felt dreadful but Zeeva was there holding my paw.  

For anyone dealing with grief right now I feel your pain.  Somehow Christmas and New Year are particularly hard.  Hang in there this too shall pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.