Living my dream

By Mima

Billowing

These are my most comfortable and least restrained pair of trousers. Made of thin cotton they are perfect for warm days like today, and they billow satisfyingly when there’s a wind to the rear. My legs are not this enormous!

Despite the forecast we have had no rain today. Hooray! Hot nor’westerly winds have blown across Chez Mima most of the day. The washing dried in quick time, although some of it ended up wrapped round a chair after it had blown off the line.

The final older chook has gone to the free range paddocks in the sky, so I have been cleaning out the run, so that I can let the new girls have the entire space. I am still only getting eggs from two of the six, which is perplexing and frustrating. Maybe the additional space will change things?

I picked 2.5kg of raspberries this morning. Bean helped by vacuuming up any that I dropped. Half of them went to neighbours and the rest will be made into ‘Fridge Jam’ which uses less sugar and is stored in the fridge. The blackcurrants are calling me next.

Hopefully I won’t be woken by fireworks at midnight. I don’t mark the end of the old and start of the new year, other than put up new calendars tomorrow morning.

If you celebrate, have a lovely time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.