PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

End of year

We’ve had a lovely few days with the family. So rarely now can we all get together, it has been a special time. Lots of chat, food, games, laughter. It’s interesting having three teenagers instead of three children, very nice. This morning they all set off - in different directions obviously and the Kent lot have already made it home - easy journey apparently.

We are now relaxing a bit after clearing up, sorting the fridge, putting chairs and beds back, washing towels - I haven’t started on bed linen yet - vacuuming up masses of dog hair. The house is now relatively tidy, but also way too quiet. I’ve got my jigsaw table back and have opened a new puzzle. Gordon is watching Rugby - I think.

Here, on the last day of 2023, are my best books of the year. I read 70 books, which is just right for me, and it was hard trying to cut the list down, but this is it. Mainly contemporary fiction, with a few older novels. I have enjoyed returning to Dickens and am loving the Virginia Woolf and Iris Murdoch challenges. So . . . onward towards 2024. (Lots of leftovers to eat, but tonight we’re having North Uist salmon and fillet steak in peppercorn sauce.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.