Life through the lens...

By ValC

On the way home

A very pleasant morning. No wind and some sunshine.
Great to get out for a walk and some fresh air.

Just 100 yards from home and I heard that unmistakable noise.
Looking up I spotted a skein of geese in the wonderful V formation flying overhead. Heading north west.
No chance of a photo.

Had a nice walk to the pond. Only about 8 ducks left.
A little girl and her mum stopped to feed the ducks. I then noticed that mum also had a tiny baby strapped to her front. Fast asleep.
Had a nice chat with them before starting back home.

Would you believe it halfway back and I heard that noise again. This time I managed to get my camera out and take this photo as they flew over.
Another couple stopped to lookup too.
We all thought that they were flying from the Wash over to the Solway Firth on their way back home.
We don’t see many geese round here, except the Canada geese which come to the pond, so it is always a thrill.
Wonderful end to 2023.

Happy New Year’s Eve.
I hope that 2024 will be a happy, healthy, and peaceful one for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.