TrishaR

By TrishaR

The back end of 23

Today for me has been a day of reflecting back on the almost gone year.

Having made some progress, I thought, on my grief, I find this last week has been pretty emotional at various times.

Today I felt really down and I sat and wondered why and it came to me that I’m leaving my Mum behind in 2023. The first New Year that I will be heading into without her being with me. I’ve found it important to sit with grief and let it flow , cry and also remember happy times too. This weather does not help. It’s been a cold, grey and misty day. Normally I would go out but today I haven’t.

Going to just get to bed soon and be all nice and cosy, have my memories and think too about how this is another of the ‘firsts’ that have come and now almost gone.

I listened to the psychotherapist Julia Samuel whose book and talks have really helped me these past few months, help in understanding many aspects of grief. I’m going to put a link here of her excellent Ted Talk, she has such a soothing voice too. Clever lady.

https://youtu.be/P4PNNlGWq_Q?si=tI6iVsQz7TzqGMmI

Goodbye 2023

I came across this photo of Mum and Dad from September 1995 when we had a party for family and friends for their 40th wedding anniversary. This was such a brilliant day. Alas, they didn’t reach their golden, three years short.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.