Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Reading list 2023

Happy new year dear blippers! I hope 2024 will be happy and healthy for all of you.
If only peace and equality were on the global agenda but it doesn’t look hopeful. I guess we’ll have a change of government at long, long last.

It’s been a very good reading year for me and I’ve loved discovering new authors. Publishing is at last becoming more diverse and I love that. I finally joined a book club at the beginning of the year and while some books have been brilliant, two were abandoned. The women in the book club are some of the most interesting and intelligent people I’ve ever met and would never have met in any other way.

Top 6 in no particular order:
Grey Bees
Memphis
Marriage Portrait
The Island of Missing Trees
Old God’s Time
Small Things Like These

Missing in action (several on loan to my son, Joe)
Andrzej Kurkov Grey Bees
David Guterson Snow Falling On Cedars
Ian McEwan Lessons
Tara Stringfellow Memphis
Hilary Mantel A Change Of Climate
Raynor Winn Landlines
Claire Keegan Small Things Like These
Elif Shafak The Island of Missing Trees

Abandoned on grounds of boredom:
James Runcie The The Great Passion
Haniya Yanagihara To Paradise
Kate Atkinson Shrines of Gaiety

How about fellow blipping readers? Tell me your must-reads please!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.