While on my runs

By waipushrink

Fence sitting

A close friend of daughter J has an old plum tree which produces far more than she and her family can use. Each year she offers us some. Last year's gift was frozen waiting until S could make plum jam. Our old aluminium preserving pan  has been mislaid. And anyway, the electric stove in the A-Frame is temperamental, and events served to delay a new kitchen. 

Daughter C has a new hob and oven; I gave S a stainless steel preserving pan for Christmas (which she wanted). Today I rinsed nearly a dozen jars and lids (which had housed the excellent manuka honey I use in my porridge). One jar for C plus what wouldn't fit in the jars. The rest waiting for a place to store them here.

While all that preserving was going on I had a walk on the path which follows Waimoko Stream. First time since the floods of almost a year ago. The devastation caused is still obvious. I was able to get some photos of birds. Chose to render the Tui in B&W as it was too backlit for any detail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.