DonnaWanna

By DonnaWanna

Smoke On The Water

I thought I smelled smoke and then I heard sirens stood up to look out the window and saw lots of smoke nearby!! EEEeeek!!   Ran around to other windows and saw that the smoke was coming from the lake area so I grabbed the camera and rushed down there as you do! 

When I got out there a young kid told me he had seen another few kids with a flame thrower, which was probably a spray can of some sort being lit to produce a spray of fire, very scary thing to do. They were trying to light the big power transformer near the lake, idiotic and dangerous thing to try and do, and when all the trees caught on fire instead they ran off!!  
Cant understand the mentality required to do something like this!!

Some of the trees in the park also caught fire and it took the fireys about an hour to get it all under control, thank goodness for the fire brigade!!  
A few other shots in extras, I couldnt get close enough for a good look, will go down tomorrow and have a look around at the damage and some more shots.

I was a bit worried about the ibis colony but they all cleverly moved over to the other side of the lake and gawked at what was going on from there and as it turned out none of their trees with their big nests caught on fire which i was glad about.

Off to a scary start of 2024!!!

Thanks to Steveng for hosting! : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.