ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Dusk

I made an early morning trip to Dornoch to join in the Loony Dook there. It was fun to be dooking on sand, but there was no swimming going on, just a bit of wave jumping, not least as there were plenty of waves and also because there were big burly blokes in dry suits set at the perimeter of the permitted area for swimming, making sure people didn't go any further. Whatever. I anyway forgot to take my glasses off and put my goggles on, so I was hardly likely to want to swim. Dooking and beach photos in the extra. Most people seemed to run into the sea and then run straight out again. The serious dippers were still in the sea ten minutes later.... It was good to have company in the form of H, who is a member of the Dornoch Dookers, who were the core of the serious swimmers in evidence. There were other dippers there from Shandwick Beach and the Kyles of Sutherland. The funniest sight were the people in white hotel dressing gowns, who had obviously walked across from the posh hotels overlooking the golf course. They looked quite out of place.

Later on, Mr A and I took what begins to be the traditional NYD trip to Tarbat Ness, in the gloaming. A picture of the lighthouse in the extras. There wasn't much of a sunset.

But there was a great twilight, so the main blip was taken in Portmahomack as we drove back, looking over the bay where we swim from time to time. As we remarked, Scotland does great twilight.

So that's us into 2024. All seems pretty much like 2023, except that I'm not going to be swimming for the rest of the week (although the group has just published a timetable of dips which I must say I found tempting....). To be honest, I'm done with wrestling with damp kit for now. I will be back to it when we return to Tain, but in the meantime I will focus on getting back into my work and using my new spinning bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.