Mediterranean Wanderer

By monkeyhanger

I drew first watch...thank you god!

I don't really like sailing through the night...this is not entirely true sailing in the dark is not a problem and can be quite magical but I struggle to sail more than 24 hours. The night watches are the worst as keeping awake can be really hard for me.

We have been given advice by many people but always revert to our 2 hours on two hours sleeping but by the time you have done this for 48 hours it starts to really hurt.

However starting into the night with a farewell to daylight like this is something that will stay with me always. I find myself smiling for nobody but me as ms MH is asleep and there are no other souls for miles...you can go hours without seeing a single light.

For some reason you still don't feel vulnerable, this only happens when other boats are close by. The weather can get pretty horrible and the boat can be playing up a little and unless there are other boats bearing down on you, Madison has a funny way of always making me feel safe.

I hope for many more sunsets and sunrises and will share them with you all if they are as good as this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.