Grammy

By Grammy

Happy New Year

It may have been a week late, but I got up this morning and made Kristen’s family the ham and asparagus quiche and the other families cranberry orange scones that I promised them for their Christmas breakfast. I decided it was time to kick COVID to the curb and live again. Hubby vacuumed while I baked. He suggested we take a ride; I have not been out since Christmas Eve. After showers, we delivered the goodies. He carried each treat inside; I remained in the car and consequently, did not see either of my children. Kristen was cleaning upstairs and had no idea she had company. Kim sent us home with German chocolate cupcakes. Renee sent homemade soup with black eyed peas and mac and cheese with shrimp and lobster. No more cooking here today. I quickly scrubbed the kitchen, utility room and powder room. Had hardly sat down before I was asleep. I woke up at 5:30 pm and realized Jamie had sent me a note at 4:00 asking us to pick up Parker at my sister’s. Yikes, glad he was able to after not getting a response from me. Poor Lauren’s COVID symptoms seem to be much worse than mine. Her temperature went a lot higher for sure. Renee just texted that her step mother tested positive this evening. Have not received an update from Abi’s boyfriend. My sister is still positive. Our friend had to delay starting chemo for his recently diagnosed leukemia; both he and his wife are down with it. Our hospital’s beds are full; it is unable to accept new patients. It’s everywhere. Hope you can avoid this new strain. The new year is making a rocky start. Let’s pray things settle down soon. Thanks for your visit and many new year wishes. Stay safe folks. “Each day is a new beginning, the chance to do with it what should be done and not to be seen as simply another day to put in time.” –Catherine Pulsifer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.