KathyH58

By KathyH58

Polar bear dip

I decided to go for a walk at Rainbow Haven Beach this morning. I didn't even think about the polar bear dip that they have there on New Years Day, till I got there and found more cars in the parking lot than usual. I was glad I got there when I did, as there was still some parking available. As I walked towards the beach I thought I had missed seeing people in the water as many were headed back to their cars. I guess those people were from the early dip.
I walked along the beach then worked my way back along one of the trails that run parallel to the beach. When I got back to the boardwalk, more people were headed to the beach so I went back to the beach too. There was a group getting ready to go in the water, at least 25 either brave or crazy souls wading into the Atlantic Ocean when the air temperature is -2 C, and I am sure the water was not much warmer.
Then off to brunch at a pub in Bedford. We had been there as a group several years ago for supper. The food was good, the service was ok. I don't think they are used to dealing with a group. They only had 2 wait staff to cover the whole pub. One experienced waitress and one obviously inexperienced waiter. I'm not sure how many people were working in the kitchen. I would like to give them one more chance on a Sunday.
A mostly cloudy but dry day today. I am hoping to see some sunshine tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.