Out and About

By Puffin

Above Derwent and the Travel Bug

A visit to Bassenthwaite Lake Station cafe for lunch to meet up with Mr Ps cousin J and a newly found 2nd cousin K who wanted to visit to hear some family folklore from the horse's mouth- ie from J .   I won't bore  you with details save it to say that it involves a maid and the lord of the manor....from whom K is descended.   

On the way I needed to get rid of a "travel bug" that was on a mission to get to Workington.  I realise most of you will have no idea what I am talking about, with apologies.   A travel bug is a token (this one looked like a key ring|) that travels from geocache to geocache. The owner of this particular travel bug lives in British Columbia and released it into the geocaching world system in Canada in 2017 with the expressed mission to get it to Workington in Cumbria where the owner originally came from.   I had picked it up in Lancaster and realised that I could get it most of the way to Workington when we next went to the North Lakes. 
The next hurdle was to find a geocache box,  big enough to take it because some are no bigger than 35mm film canisters.  I spotted a suitable one just north of Keswick, but had no idea what I would find when I got there;  all I needed was a container big enough to drop off the travel bug.  Delighted to find this war memorial on a small hill hidden amongst the trees just off an old bit of road that used to be the A66.  The area must be called Above Derwent. One of the wreaths you can see has been placed  by the Above Derwent Ladies Club. The cache is hidden nearby and currently has a travel bug, very close now to its final destination of Workington, just 20 miles away.   When it gets there, its next mission is to get home to British Columbia.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.