BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Hairy

I've heard it said by a former
visitor to such establishments
that going to the hairdresser
can be a bit of a trauma.

Indeed, if she had to enter
a salon (they often appear
swish and snooty shiny)
I can see it could dent her

self-confidence. I do recall
that as a teenager
I used to hate visiting the barber.
I had to sit with all

the 'old men' (no appointment
system in those days) and endure
their conversation. I'd lurch
from anger to embarrassment.

In any case I wanted my hair long
like Mick and Keith and John
Paul George and Ringo. Though
even long it still looked wrong.

I tried various ways to fix
and flatten it. It was wavy, wiry,
bushy, curly. But overnight my look
turned cool. Along came Jimi Hendrix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.