Keith B

By keibr

View from a snowpile!

As Rikard clears our snow he pushes it past the door and into a heap just beyond the house. As he arrives at the heap he picks up the snow mass he is pushing with his big digger and drops it on top of the heap. In that way the pile grows up to a little over 3 meters high.
And that is where I was standing when I took this photo, on top of that heap. It takes me to about the same height as our bathroom, seen here with the ladder leaning up against it.
After I'd taken the picture I was up to top of that ladder and digging away enough snow to let me stand on the bathroom roof. There was well over a meter of snow at the deepest point. I cleared that roof of snow, and cleared as high as I could reach up the two other roofs that channel snow onto the bathroom. Temperatures have stayed below freezing since the snow fell, so there is very little ice, which we are thankful for. Even so the lower layers are well compacted, solid and heavy.  It feels very worthwhile to get that weight off the flattish bathroom roof and it gives gives extra exercise at the white gym!
When I got back into the house there was a delightful smell of baking and I found Jan working on a new batch of mince pies. Fortunately one was broken and another misshapen so we felt it best to eat up the rejects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.