KateH

By KateH

Winchester Cathedral crypt

Productive morning with Vikram doing his VAT with Beethoven’s 9th playing in the background as Woody sang along.   He sounded a bit hoarse by the end.  I meanwhile toiled away in the barn trying to decode out the elaborate system I’d put in place for filing my rental receipts.   

Massively windy so it wasn’t a day to walk in the woods. 

Soup for lunch with the turkey stock and then we went to Winchester so V could spend the voucher he’d got for Christmas in the Hambledon sale.   With all the flooding on the roads we figured the water level would have risen enough for the crypt to have flooded which gives these beautiful reflections.  Also the Anthony Gormley sculpture looks incredibly lovely in the midpoint of the view. .  I was surprised the flood wasn’t higher actually, I still managed to step in it forgetting the lower step, which is on the side of the viewing platform, gets covered with water.  I have seen the level up to the book, but I think they close it if it gets much higher than that.  Memorably we tried to get in once and it was shut, the guide telling us ‘madam, it’s over his head!’  

Home for tea and watched a couple of episodes of The Tourist with another supper of leftovers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.