Allotment 2022 onwards

By misetak

Quilting in the ditch

While I have been away, I have been attending a quilting course once a fortnight.  Today was the penultimate session and we learnt to layer a quilt with the wadding and backing.  We were using the patchwork sample from the first week of the course so we didn't destroy our proper quilts*.  I turned down the easy option of using spray glue to hold the layers together due to my total aversion to using aerosol cans, so had the fun of using quilt pins (a bit like nappy pins, but smaller and bent) instead.
Then we were let loose with our walking feet** to do the quilting.  Quilting in the ditch is where you machine along the seam, so the quilting stitches are hidden.  If you look closely, you will see that I need much more practice!!

*which also means that those of us who are way behind like me (only 7 of 16 blocks finished) can still join in. :-)
** technical term - a sewing machine foot that grips the fabric on the top as well as the bottom. Expensive as feet go, but a neat piece of engineering.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.