WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Roadblock

A massive lorry turned up bright and early and blocked access to the square with a massive pile of (presumably) insulation. Two guys gradually moved it down the street to an implausibly small house -- I didn't see how it could accommodate so much insulation. Later the lorry returned with piles of plasterboard and rails. Looks like the house has been sold ... and in other news, a massive mansion that's been empty for over a decade was showing signs of activity, with bushes being hacked down. New Year, new start.

Meanwhile I woke up with a stinking cold, presumably caught on the plane on Saturday. I wore a mask on the outward journey, being worried about catching something and passing it to S's mum. But I'm afraid that even though I had a mask in my bag, I completely forgot to wear it on the way back. It's not a habit any more. So this is the result. I haven't tested for Covid -- it just feels like a normal head cold. In any case, I haven't been anywhere except for a brief walk for fresh air, and I expect I'll be off to bed early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.