Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Late Light

I have one day more off work so offered to take my mother in law to the supermarket as she doesn’t get the chance to shop for herself very often. It is however quite challenging now she has dementia.  I asked her to make a list, but nothing was organised when I picked her up.  I checked the cupboards and fridge/freezer so I had an idea what she needed.

Walking around I tried to let her make the decisions, though it could be difficult when she had forgotten she’d put something in the basket almost immediately afterwards and wanted to do it again.  I could tell she was trying to remember things she wanted, or allow inspiration to hit her as she walked around, but I could tell it was difficult for her.  Dementia robs people of so much, particularly as the condition isn’t easy for those affected to understand and make adaptions.  Patience for those with her is a must.

I got back home for lunch, but by then it was raining again, so L and I went for a walk after work.  There was plenty of evidence of the rain, including the rugby pitch, which is partly flooded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.