JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Glasgow, 7.30pm. Al fresco.

Today was my last day before seven weeks' holiday. I have an open-door at work and respond to emails and tweets throughout the year even when I'm off the clock. I don't blow a trumpet or shout from the rooftops so it's not pride or such, but it's been a tough yet hugely enjoyable session and we've got a lot done. I left my office happy.

We sat outside a bar in the city and it was fantastic. Glasgow with cafe culture is like the missing piece of the city jigsaw. I'm a city boy born and bred and love it and hate it but I feel comfortable in either position. It's my city and I'll laugh if I want to, it's my city and I'll cry if I want to. But give us seventy degrees daily for a summer and watch this city take-off. I'm not big on raindrops in my coffee, wind around my sandwich. Sunshine on the terrace and we'll be fine.

The pic is Royal Exchange Square, Gallery of Modern Art to the left, cafes to the right. It's beautiful in winter under lights, and in summer could be Paris or Perugia or Prague. Summertime, and the living is easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.