MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

An interesting night

We were watching Die Hard With A Vengeance and I'd just had a sip of wine with the end of the film approaching, about 10 past midnight, when suddenly blood was pouring out of my nose - not like an ordinary nose bleed - like a tap. I'm a retired nurse so I know how to stop a nose bleed, in theory, anyway! It was all over me so I rushed to the kitchen sink, Terry hot on my heels, supplying wads of tissues and removing the bowl from the sink. I leaned my head over and pinched my nose firmly. 
This resulted in panic because the bleeding did not stop as expected and as it couldn't get out that way, it was pouring (uphill) down the back of my throat which is not good when you are mouth-breathing! I've heard of nose bleeds like this but never had one before. Carried on pinching nose and trying to spit out the blood from the back of my throat and to cut a long story short it was like a bloodbath in the kitchen with blood everywhere on the sink, tiles, shutters, in my hair, all over my face and I'd left a trail on the carpet and hard floor en route. My heart was going like the clappers in panic - more because of the effort needed not to choke on the blood waterfall.
After 20 minutes or more when there was no sign of improvement and I was struggling with breathlessness and coughing, which was made worse by partially clotted blood at the back of my throat, Terry rang an ambulance and of course a minute before it arrived the bleeding eased off! I daren't move from the sink though. 
The ambulance ladies were fantastic and applied a pressure dressing (not that it might work as the bleeding seemed to be higher up in my nose) and took me into the ambulance to assess. My blood pressure was 225/113 and they were concerned enough to take me to A&E. 
At A&E the ambulances were queued up as all the trolleys on the corridors were used so they opted to wheel me in to the waiting room to save queuing outside, since I did not need to be on a trolley.
On the way in every inch of corridor space was filled with trolleys of people, no spaces between them. There were at least 8 ambulances queued outside and the waiting room was rammed.
When I was seen by the nurse clinician my BP was a bit better at 170-something over 96 and she said she'd call me back to look up my nose and see what the doctor said.
After another wait she looked up my nose and gave me some antiseptic cream to apply, gave me a chitty to take to reception to book an ENT appointment and told me that if it happens again and we can't stop the bleeding then come back and they will pack it. Hopefully not!
Some people had been there 6 and 7 hours (walk-ins) so I count myself very lucky I was home around 4am. My ENT appointment is next Monday.
Terry was a gem, helping me to try to stop the bleeding, cleaning up a lot of it, coming to the hospital with me, even though he is in severe pain with his hip. My blood pressure was almost back to normal when I checked it about 10 minutes after we got home. 
We didn't get up early but we've been knackered today!
Now I am scared to sneeze and I sneeze a lot due to my love of pepper!
Our snowdrops are starting to come through, as you can see from the photo, and many more bulbs are peeping through or growing quite big now.
Today I didn't get a walk and I had had to postpone my geocaching trip with friends but I got the washing pegged out which is an achievement - not had many fine days for a while. We took the outside lights down as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.