Blush response

By Esper

Bable On .... And On ... And On ... And On

On This Day In History
1980: The Sugarhill Gang's Rapper's Delight becomes hip-hop's first Top 40 hit

Quote Of The Day
"I said, "He's a fairy, I do suppose,
Flying through the air in pantyhose.
He may be sexy, or even cute,
But he looks like a sucker in a blue and red suit!"

I said, "You need a man who's got finesse,
And his whole name across his chest.
He may be able to fly all through the night,
But can he rock a party 'til the early light?
He can't satisfy you with his little worm,
But I can bust you out with my super sperm!""
(The Sugarhill Gang, Rapper's Delight )

Interesting to see that this early hip-hop song is so refreshingly free of the homophobia, misogyny and macho swaggering that would later infest the genre.

Rapper's Delight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.