HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

When's my turn?

I filled the bird feeders today with seeds and some berries and a banana. I read that some bird like banana. It's been so cold and with the deeper snow, the natural bird food available is not that nutritious. So some extra food will hopefully help them survive.



I read that I could have put some rowan berries to freezer for the bird to serve mid winter. I need to remember that next autumn. That is a great idea.



I also put some carrots, apple slices and salad for the hares. They too need nutritious food with this cold spell. Last night some apple slices had disappeared, so I refilled the serving area.



Yesterday I saw a wood mouse on our terrace. I think he can help himself with the bird feeder too. They mostly stay under the snow during winter.



I read about a phenomenon that was new to me. I don't know the English word for it.

Frost quake. 


It's been so cold that those have been happening across country. "A frost quake occurs when the water in the soil freezes quickly and when it expands, it causes a small movement in the very surface layers of the earth." Interesting. I've heard some bangs over these days and wondered about them. So perhaps it's been that.



We have this saying "paukkupakkanen" which means freezing cold weather. But it's made of two words. Bang and frost. So it also indicates that when it's really really cold, you can hear thing banging noise. So it could be that that word comes from the frost quake phenomenon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.